OLT Fellowship

Dr Marina Harvey was awarded a 2014 OLT National Teaching Fellowship titled “Quality learning and teaching with sessional staff: systematising national standards”

About the Fellowship

The majority of teaching in Australian universities is undertaken by sessional staff yet these staff have been at the periphery of learning and teaching plans. This fellowship will address the issue of systematising good practice for learning and teaching with sessional staff through the implementation and embedding of national standards. It builds upon and extends the outcomes of an existing OLT project, Benchmarking Leadership and Advancement of Standards for Sessional Teaching. The diverse program of activities aims to stimulate strategic change in higher education institutions and includes: state benchmarking fora; inter-institutional benchmarking; pilots with private providers; action research projects; and scholarly dissemination of research, innovation and good practice case studies. The fellowship activities will be used as a conduit to build national and international partnerships.

Fellowship Members

Leading Fellow: Dr Marina Harvey, Macquarie University

Program Research and Development Officer: Dr Vanessa Fredericks, Macquarie University

Fellowship Reference Group

  • Dr George Brown, Group Academic Director, Study Group
  • Colin Bryson, Director of the Combined Honours Centre, Newcastle University, UK
  • W/Prof Denise Chalmers, Winthrop Professor and Director, Centre for the Advancement of Teaching and Learning (CATL), University of Western Australia
  • Prof Jillian Hamilton, Director, Student Success and Retention, Queensland University of Technology (QUT)
  • Sandra Jones, Professor of Employment Relations, and the Director of the Centre for Business Education Research, Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology (RMIT)
  • Paula Kelly, Regulation and Review Group, Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA)
  • Dr Kathryn Sutherland, Associate Dean, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand
  • Dr Dominique Parrish, Associate Dean (Education) Faculty of Science, Medicine and Health, University of Wollongong